Henry, Hardat cop top prizes at RHTY&SC cricket academy

first_imgTHE 29th annual award ceremony of the Rose Hall Town Youth & Sports Club, MS (RHTY&SC) concluded last Friday with an impressive closing ceremony at the St. Francis Training Centre.The academy, conducted by Delbert Hicks and Eon Hooper, was described as a huge success.Under-13 players Eon Henry and Trisha Hardat, copped the major awards at the closing ceremony. The impressive Henry won the Overall Player-of-the-Academy award while Hardat was named Female Player-of-the-Academy by the coaches.Club Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster stated that the management of RHTY&SC was overwhelmed by the large registration of 105 young cricketers.The main objectives of the academy were to improve the cricketing skills of each player, to educate the players of the tradition, rules, history of the game and to get them to understand their roles of sports ambassadors.Foster, who also serves as president of Berbice Cricket Board (BCB), stated that RHTY&SC has a rich tradition of success to uphold, and as such, uses the academy each year to nurture new talents for the future and to further develop existing talents.The academy over the years has developed players like Esaun Crandon, Assad Fudadin, Royston Crandon, Abdel Fudadin, Khemraj Mahadeo, Delbert Hicks, Eon Hooper, Renwick Batson, Shawn Grant, Junior Sinclair, Kevlon Anderson, Shawn Pereira, Shemaine Campbelle, Erva Giddings, Sheneta Grimmond and Shabika Gajnabi.Assistant Secretary/CEO Simon Naidu, who served as the Director of the Academy, hailed the outstanding work of Hicks and Hooper, who both worked beyond the call of duty to make sure that every player was looked after individually. Club members Keith Hicks, Ravindranauth Kissoonlall, Tyrone Pottaya, Phil Archer and Pamie Brusch were also praised for their contribution.Each member of the academy who successfully participated received an educational package worth $2 500 while the top awardees received special prizes including bicycles, cricket gear, clocks, photo frames, caps and t/shirts.The top awardees at the academy, selected by the coaches were: Best batsman – Kamalchand Ramnarace, Best Bowler – Christopher Deroop, Best All-rounder – Xavier Henry, Best Fielder – S. Hardat, Most Disciplined – Dorasammy Mahadeo, Most Improved – Tameshwar Deonandan, Best Female – Trisha Hardat, Disciplined Junior Player – A. Batson and Cricketer-of-the-Academy – Eon Henry.last_img read more

Microscopes gifted to UG’s Engineering and Technology Faculty

first_imgStudents attached to the faculty of engineering and technology, at the University of Guyana (UG) will now enjoy a boosted research and training environment after some 23 Leitz Polarising microscopes were gifted to the department on Friday by the University of Toronto.From left: Faculty Dean, Elena Trim; Vice Chancellor, Professor Ivelaw Griffith; and Professor Daniel Schulze and other officials pose with some of the donated microscopesThe simple handing over ceremony in the faculty’s lecture room was graced by the attendance of both students and authority officials of the University.In opening remarks, UG’s Vice-Chancellor Professor Ivelaw Griffith expressed gratitude for the donation while he pointed out that the University finds pleasure in having foreign partners who demonstrate an interest in the University and contributing to the development of Guyana’s human resource.“We have the wonderful opportunity at our University of strengthening what we do and how we do, we also know that those opportunities presents occasions for partnerships. Partnerships that are tangible demonstrations of the interest in the University, in the interest of our nation….it is an extra pleasure to have citizens of other nations but in the academy who are able to reach out and connect to help us strengthen what we do and how we do it,” he stated.Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Technology, Elena Trim in her brief remarks reiterated thanks to the University of Toronto as she explained that the faculty will benefit greatly since prior to the donation, students were not privileged to utilise and access such equipment to have laboratories done. “These microscopes were donated for the main reason of having your laboratories done, we were not able to do so previously because we did not have microscopes….we have to maintain these microscopes because they are very expensive and they are going to keep the faculty up and running and be prepared for the near future.”Speaking on behalf of the University of Toronto, Professor Daniel Schulze expressed fulfilment in being able to make such a valuable contribution to Guyana’s University and its students.Schulze added that the high-quality equipment will mainly benefit engineers in the upcoming petroleum sector, he further underscored that it is intended to be used for the sole benefit of the students.“I think this is the way to go, because we do need a microscope which is good for petroleum-based engineers….so it will [have] a long term use, it’s a basic microscopes we can use in junior years…..we hope that it be continued to be put to good use,” he said.To show notable appreciation, Professor Schulze was presented with tokens on behalf of the University students after which Niossi Alsopp, a student of the aforementioned faculty, concluded the event by expressing delight and acknowledged the contributions being made.last_img read more